EDIT MAIN
Plus_blue

HOME-BASED INSTRUCTION INFORMATION FOR FAMILIES

In Washington State, children between the ages of 8 and 18 are required by law to enroll in a public school, enroll in a private school, or to receive home-based instruction. Washington State defines homeschooling and the requirements parents must meet to be eligible to homeschool their child in  RCW 28A.200 and in RCW 28A.225.010(4).

By September 15th each year, parents must fill out the "Annual Declaration of Intent to Provide Home-Based Instruction". The District will accept any form for this declaration. Click here to access the form provided by the District.

Parents qualify to teach their own child(ren) at home if they meet one or more of the following criteria:

  1. Parent has earned 45 or more college credit courses.
  2. Parent has completed a course in home-based instruction at a post-secondary or vocational/technical school.
  3. The child(ren)’s educational program and progress is supervised by a Washington State certified teacher.
  4. Parent is deemed qualified by the Blaine School District Superintendent of Schools.

Parents are to give instruction and measure progress in the basic skills of occupational education, science, mathematics, language, social studies, history, health, reading, writing, spelling, and the development of an appreciation of art and music. Parents will provide the following amount of instructional time for home-based children:

  1. Kindergarten: At least a total of 450 hours
  2. Grades 1-12: An annual average total of 1,000 hours

Students receiving home-based instruction must be either academically tested or assessed annually. (Visit the State Board of Education Home Instruction FAQ page for more information.)

Upon re-entry to public school, the parent will provide the following information to the school:

  1. Immunization records.
  2. Records relating to instructional and educational activities that were provided.
  3. Test scores or annual academic progress assessments written by a Washington State certified teacher working in the field of education.

It is the parent’s prerogative to enroll home-based children part-time in public schools. Upon entry or re-entry in the Blaine School District, the student will be placed at the appropriate grade level as determined by the district.

Students receiving home-based instruction are also eligible to participate in extra-curricular and athletic activities sponsored by Blaine schools.

As a parent contemplating home-based instruction, you need to be aware that failure to comply with your duties as outlined above, may result in your being deemed in violation of  RCW 28A.225, “Compulsory School Attendance” and your child(ren) being classified as truant.

Links to additional information: